It’s the little things

The air is cool and crisp. The leaves are changing color on the trees and some are beginning to fall off and crunch under my feet as I make my way down the same path every morning bringing O to school. I’ve always loved Fall. Maybe because I’m a November baby. Or maybe it’s just because in Louisiana those beautiful Fall days were rare and therefore precious. Who knows.

I know, I complain about ridiculous peeves that I find here in my new home. However, Fall seems to be one of those consolations I’ve received for leaving friends and family behind. I left my warm home and it’s crazy wonderful people for real changing seasons and a quieter sort of crowd. But I do appreciate some of the things I’ve found here in Germany. I love how almost everyone takes to planting up their “garten” (they call the whole yard the garden). And they have this au naturell approach- no chemicals or pesticides and only natural fertilizers at most. So, it’s even more amazing when the flowers are blooming and the plants are thriving.

And then there’s this house:

 

I’m not sure what it is about this house, but I love love love it. At least from this angle. The front is ok, but this yard, and the vines going up the side of the house. Fabulous!

Leave a Reply

